Hawks Museum honours our Indigenous Players

Peter Haby Curator Hawks Museum

As part of the introduction for the Club’s RAP program presented in July 2019, the Hawks Museum has implemented a new exhibit that honours the 17 Indigenous Players who have represented the Club.In 1957 Cyril Collard made history becoming the first Aboriginal man to play for the brown and gold.Since Collard’s debut, a further 16 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men have donned the Club’s Guernsey.

Of these, six players, Chance Bateman, Mark Williams, Lance Franklin, Cyril Rioli, Shaun Burgoyne and Bradley Hill have all made an immense impact on the field and achieved significant personal historical achievements.They have all played in premierships.Bateman was the first Indigenous player to gain Life Membership, Williams was the first to head the Club’s goal kicking, Franklin was the first to win the Crimmins Medal including two Coleman Medals and Rioli was the first to win the Norm Smith Medal.

A major feature of new exhibit is the Indigenous guernseys.During the Indigenous Round, held annually during National Reconciliation Week, players proudly wear guernseys designed by Indigenous players and members of the community.Hawthorn’s 2006 and 2017 Indigenous guernseys was designed by Yorta Yorta and Wiradjuri artist Jirra Harvey and featured designs by Shaun Burgoyne, Cyril Rioli, Bradley Hill and Jermaine Miller-Lewis.

Some of the other memorabilia on display are Shaun Burgoyne’s guernsey number 67 worn in honour of the 50th anniversary of landmark 1967 Referendum, boomerangs presented at the Club at the start of the Sir Douglas Nicholas Indigenous rounds, Cyril Rioli’s 2015 Premiership medal, Indigenous round footballs, hand painted boots worn by Lance Franklin and Jarman Impey and the first piece of Indigenous art work presented to the Club in 2002, a message stick made by Neville Collard, a cousin of Cyril Collard.The 2018 and 2019 guernsey was designed by Tiwi artist Jennifer Coombes and Cyril Rioli.The design featured ceremonial Pukamani poles from the Tiwi Islands.

List below are Hawthorn’s Indigenous Players:

  • Cyril Collard, 1957-1958, Games 13, Goals 3
  • Percy Cummings, 1964-1965, Games 5, Goals 1
  • Chance Bateman, 2000-2012, Games 177, Goals 67, Premiership 2008,
  • HFC Life Member 2010
  • Mark Williams, 2002-2009, Games 111, Goals 242, Premiership 2008, Leading Goalkicker 2005, 2006
  • Lance Franklin, 2005-2013, Games 182, Goals 580, Premierships 2008, 2013, Crimmins Medal 2008, Coleman Medal 2008, 2011, HFC Life Member 2013
  • Harry Miller, 2005-2006, Games 18, Goals
  • Cyril Rioli, 2008-2018, Games 189, Goals 275, Premierships 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015 Norm Smith Medal 2015, HFC Life Member 2015
  • Cameron Strokes, 2008-2010
  • Shaun Burgoyne, 2010-present, Games 219, Goals 119, Premierships 2013, 2014, 2015, HFC Life Member 2016
  • Rhan Hooper, 2010, Games 6, Goals 7
  • Carl Peterson, 2010, Games 17, Goal 13
  • Bradley Hill, 2012-2016, Games 95, Goals 58
  • Jed Anderson, 2013-2015, Games 10, Goals 4
  • Derick Wandaneen, 2014, Games 1, Goal 0
  • Kieran Lovell, 2016, Games 2, Goals 0
  • Jarman Impey, 2018-present, Games 41, Goals 17
  • Chad Wingard, 2019-present, Games 7, Goals 7

Members of the Cyril Collard family with current players, Jarman Impey and Chad Wingard with the tribute to our Indigenous Players

You may also be interested in...

4 May 2017
Lest We Forget
Read more
6 Oct 2017
Knights Clan Visits Hawks Museum
Read more
3 Apr 2018
The 6-minute men - Dew, Rioli & Williams
Read more