The 6-minute men - Dew, Rioli & Williams

The Hawks Museum offers a special school holiday treat for visitors.The 6-minute men - Dew, Rioli & Williams.

2018 marks the 10th Anniversary of the 2008 Premiership.The 2008 Grand Final was a very tight contest against Geelong until late in the third quarter when Stuart Dew, Cyril Rioli and Mark Williams made victory possible with 6 minutes of inspirational football that will live long in the memory of all lovers of the Brown and Gold.

In a special exhibit, the Hawks Museum pays tribute to Stuart Dew, Cyril Rioli and Mark Williams.On display you will see the guernseys they wore on the day and the Premiership Medals presented to them after the final siren. A highlight of this exhibit is the impressive photograph album that coach Alastair Clarkson presented to each of his players, with written reflections of what this historic win meant to each team member.

The 2008 Premiership exhibit

Other highlights in this exhibit are ruckman, Robert Campbell’s boots that he wore on the day, Mark Williams’ Goal Kicking Trophies and a special Shane Crawford T-Shirt made by Troy Wood, a long time member of the ‘Friends of the Hawks Museum’.

The 6 minute countdown

8 minutes remaining in the third quarter, scores were level, Williams and Osborne tackled the Cats defence, Osborne gained a free kick and handballed to Hodge who goaled, the Hawks led by 6 points.

7 minutes remaining, Rioli inspired his teammates when he tackled two of the Cat’s best players, Enright and Rooke and gained a free kick.

Cyril Rioli with his Premiership Guernsey

6 minutes remaining, Dew won a contested ball in the middle of the ground and kicked long to the forward line for Rioli to gather and goal, the Hawks led by 11 points.

4 minutes remaining, Geelong defender Taylor fumbled the ball at centre half-back, Dew pounced and of one step drilled a 50 metre goal, the Hawks led by 17 points.

Stuart Dew with his Premiership Guernsey

3 minutes remaining, Dew fed a handball to Williams who dribbled a goal, the Hawks led by 23 points

Mark Williams’ wife, Belinda and daughter Eve admire the photo of the 2008 Premiership Team with their Cup on the MCG

2 minutes remaining, Franklin handballed to Dew who snapped truly for goal, the Hawks led by 29 points

Two late goals to the Cats cut the Hawks lead to 17 points at the final change, Hawk fans were on edge, have we had done enough to secure victory and the Club’s 10th Premiership?

The final term belonged to the Hawks and victory was secured when Rick Ladson goaled, then Sam Mitchell duly thumped home the sealer. The final margin was 26 points. For Shane Crawford it was to be his last appearance with his beloved Hawks, his 305th game in his 17th season and fittingly, a premiership.

Hawthorn 18.7.115 defeated Geelong 11.23.89
Goals: Hawthorn - Williams 3, Dew 2, Franklin 2, Rioli 2, Roughead 2, Bateman Brown, Ellis, Hodge, Ladson, Mitchell, Young.
Geelong – Ablett 2, Lonergan 2, Mooney 2, Chapman, Johnson, Milburn
Umpires: S McLaren, S Ryan, M Vozzo, Crowd: 100,012 at the MCG
Norm Smith Medal: Luke Hodge (Hawthorn), Jock McHale Medal: Alastair Clarkson (Hawthorn)

Author: Peter Haby, Hawks Museum

You may also be interested in...

24 May 2019
Impressions of the Hawks Museum during my first week
Read more
13 Nov 2017
Brian Coleman’s Japanese Tracksuit Tops now in the Hawks Museum
Read more
30 Jul 2018
They Come from Far & Wide
Read more